Accelerator Test Facility and Synchrotron Radiation Source at KIT

Hard X-ray Scattering

There are four beamlines dedicated to single-crystal, powder and thin-film scattering and diffraction investigations.
Three of these beamlines (SCD, PDIFF and MPI) are located at bending magnets, the fourth, NANO, is situated at an insertion device source. Typically the beamlines provide X-rays in the energy range between approximately 5 keV and 21 keV. Focusing optics (mirrors, bent monochromators) allow typical beam sizes in the sub-millimeter (full-width at half maximum) range to be achieved.

The experimental stations offer a variety of sample and scattering geometries as well as sample-environmental infrastructure (customised chambers, furnaces, cryostats etc.) to investigate both bulk and near-surface crystallographic and supramolecular structure in a wide range of applied and fundamental materials research areas.


Beamline Technical/ scientific application Experimental station Specification Source
MPI Surface diffraction 1st station:
Multiple circle diffractometer, horizontal / vertical sample normal geometry, horizontal / vertical four circle geometry, COR 5 m from DCM
2nd station:
horizontal six circle diffractometer, COR 10 m from DCM
Energy range:
6 keV - 20 keV
3 10-4 @ 9 keV
1.5 T Bending magnet
NANO X-ray diffraction (HR-XRD) with highest angular resolution, anomalous scattering, coherent scattering (1) High-resolution 6-circle diffractometer;
(2) heavy-duty diffractometer; MBE chamber, cryostats, superconducting magnet
Energy range:
3 - 30 keV
2·10-4 - 10-2 ΔE/E
conducting undulator
PDIFF X-ray powder diffraction (XRPD), roentgenography, single-crystal diffraction 4+2 circle diffractometer Energy range:
6 - 20 keV
2x10-4 ΔE/E
Dipole magnet
SCD Single crystal diffraction, single / multiple anomalous dispersion (SAD/MAD) 3 axis diffractometer with CCD-detector and 2 axis diffractometer with image plate detector Energy range:
4 - 20 keV
Resolution: 3.5x10-4 ΔE/E
Dipole magnet